Album for the Young


Album for the Young (2015) was commissioned by Continuum (Toronto) for their 2015/2016 concert season. Scored for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion (vibraphone, tubular bells) and piano, the work divides into fourteen sections based on pieces from (and sketches for) Schumann’s Album für die Jugend (1848), as follows:

  • Northern Song
  • Wintertime I
  • Wintertime II
  • Rustic Song
  • Sicilienne
  • Roundelay
  • Mignon
  • Humming Song
  • A Little Canon
  • The Merry Peasant returning from Work
  • Blind Man’s Bluff
  • The Stranger
  • 43 Piano Pieces
  • Rebus

The fourteen sections, played attacca, yield an overall duration of approximately fourteen minutes.

Premiered by Continuum on September 19, 2015.

Chris Paul Harman CA

Chris Paul Harman was born in 1970 in Toronto where he studied classical guitar, cello and electronic music with Barton Wigg, Alan Stellings and Wes Wraggett, respectively, from 1982-1989. In 2007, he undertook graduate research at the University of Birmingham (UK) under the supervision of Vic Hoyland, earning a PhD in music composition in 2012.

His works have been performed by ensembles and orchestras in Canada and abroad, including the Asko Ensemble (Amsterdam), CBC Radio Orchestra (Vancouver), Esprit Orchestra (Toronto), Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Noordhollands Philharmonisch, Philharmonia Orchestra (London), Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Tokyo Symphony and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.

In 1986, Mr. Harman was a finalist in the CBC Radio National Competition for Young Composers. In 1990, he was the Grand Prize Winner in that same competition for his work Iridescence, which was subsequently chosen as the Selected Work in the category for composers under 30 years of age at the 1991 International Rostrum of Composers in Paris.

Mr. Harman’s work Uta received an honourable mention at the Gaudeamus International Music Week in 2001. That same year, his work Amerika was awarded the Jules Léger Prize and was short listed for the Prix de Composition de la Fondation Prince Pierre de Monaco. In 2007, Postludio a rovescio, commissioned and premiered by the Nieuw Ensemble of Amsterdam, received the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music.

Since 2005, Mr. Harman has served as a professor of composition at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University in Montreal.

Chris Paul Harman