Look on glass

2010/11 listen

Look on glass was written for a 17-chord Japanese Koto and Marimba, premiered by Kazue Sawai and Ryan Scott in 2010. This new version for small ensemble shifts the focus to the marimba, creating a new context for what was originally an accompaniment to the Koto. Although the Koto is omitted in this version, its presence may perhaps be felt in the sparse plucky textures of this piece. The work is written in 4 movements, each acting as a miniature, or what I like to think of as a musical haiku. These haiku are dedicated to the annual promise of emergence from beneath what seems an impenetrable and unforgiving surface of hardened earth and ice.

Continuum premiered the arrangement for small ensemble on February 12, 2012.

Michael Oesterle CA

Michael Oesterle is a freelance canadian composer who lives Deux-Montagnes Quebec. His music has been performed and commissioned by orchestras, ensembles, chamber musicians and soloists. Occasionally his music is used by choreographers, animation artists, and for film projects.

Michael's compositions have been performed and commissioned by numerous notable ensembles and soloists including Ensemble Modern (Frankfurt), Aventa Ensemble, Turning Point Ensemble, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM), the Ives Ensemble (Amsterdam), Ensemble Intercontemporain (Paris), sopranos Karina Gauvin and Suzie LeBlanc, cellist Yegor Dyachkov, violinists Aisslinn Nosky, Quatuor Bozzini, Quatuor  Molinari, Groundswell, Soundstreams, Asko/Schoenberg Ensemble (Amsterdam), Les Violons du Roy, the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra, and les Percussions de Strasbourg.

His orchestral works have been performed by the Montreal, Winnipeg, Calgary, Victoria, Kitchener-Waterloo and Vancouver Symphonies, as well as by the National Arts Orchestra, the National Broadcast Orchestra, Symphony Nova Scotia, the Chicago Civic Orchestra, and the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra.

He has produced projects in collaboration with choreographers Serge Bennathan, Isabelle Van Grimde, Barbara Bourget, Gioconda Barbuto, and Dominique Porte, and he frequently collaborates with animation artist Christopher Hinton, having composed music for several of his films, including CNOTE, which won the 2005 GENIE award for best animated-short.

For more information about Michael Oesterle, click here.

Michael Oesterle