Continuum in the Classroom

Continuum works alongside primary, elementary, and secondary school music classes in the TDSB to foster creative skill development in the creation of new works. Now in its eighth year, Continuum in the Classroom has generated over 75 new works and engaged with over 7000 students.

Teen Composer Award (TCA)

Continuum celebrates outstanding compositions by secondary school students from across the GTA. Each year, one student is selected to mentor with a professional composer over several months. The work created is then presented as part of Continuum's concert season.

The TCA will provide an invaluable and practical compositional experience, one-on-one mentorship, professional development resources and an introduction to the Canadian new music community. During the fall of 2019 and early 2020, the selected composer will be mentored by Canadian composer Christina Volpini, who will serve as a guide for the composition process. Continuum’s Artistic Director and percussionist Ryan Scott will also provide a lesson on writing for percussion.

The recipient of the award will compose a 5-8 minute work for violin, cello, flute, clarinet, percussion and piano; the composition can be conducted. The selected composer's work will be given a special pre-concert performance on February 9, 2020 at 918 Bathurst/The Music Gallery, as part of our Inside Us Concert – a main-stage Continuum concert featuring a new work by Canadian composer Juliet Palmer.

The recipient will receive high definition video and audio of the performance; this documentation will also be shared via Continuum’s online portals.

The TCA is a GTA-wide initiative — students from throughout the city of Toronto and the greater Toronto Area are invited to apply.

To make a submission, 250-word statement as to why you are interested in this opportunity and an example of your music (this could be a .pdf score, a link to recording or both) to

The application deadline is November 15, 2019. There is no application fee. For more information visit, email

Previous Winners

  • Cindy Chen (2017)
  • Erik Kreem (2018)
  • Sarah Lu (2019)
Continuum in the Classroom
The Toronto District School Board